3/24/17

So to follow up on my past surgeries and all last summer, in mid-October I had a second major surgery with a new doctor at a new hospital (since my first urologist decided there was nothing wrong with me even though I was leaking urine from my vagina for 3 months) and she found not only one, but two fistulas, and a displaced ureter.  She repaired the fistulas vaginally, but the ureter required her to go back in through my abdomen wound from my hysterectomy.  I was so nervous the night before surgery I didn’t sleep and I stayed up all night watching Titanic lol.  Of course then once I got to the hospital I was exhausted so after the surgery I slept all day/night into the next morning.  I stayed for 4 days in the hospital because I immediately started walking and moving around which gave me permission to go home.  My dad came to visit me on Wednesday which was really nice.  I was in excruciating pain though because I told my doctor since I’m an addict I didn’t want any opiates, because I got hooked so fast over the summer and had a really hard time coming off them.

So I got Tylenol and Tramadol which did jack shit for me but oh well.  The first day they wanted me to sit up in bed and move to the chair in my room and I physically could not and I was crying.  Each day got a bit easier, but then I started bleeding from my vagina and had to put a stupid pad on again which was quite dysphoria inducing and upsetting to me.  It took a few weeks but I finally stopped leaking liquid out of that fucking hole.  I had to keep the catheter in for another 4 weeks and got a few more UTIs of course (just my luck).  14 weeks total with a catheter…NEVER. AGAIN. Seriously the absolutely worst thing ever.

I then had to move but couldn’t lift anything so thankfully I had some awesome friends who offered to help and I really love my new apartment.  I’m really close to the trolley which gets me to everything.  This month (March) I went back to work for the first time since 2013, and I’m really happy about that.  I’m working 2 days a week, 2 days at vocational rehab for my brain injury, and therapy once a week.

I have a lot on my mind but I can’t really focus right now so I’m gonna leave it at this.

About gabe126

I'm a 29 year old gay trans guy who lives in Philadelphia. Gabe is not my real name, well, it's my middle name, but for anonymity's sake, let's go with that. I hold bachelor's degrees in both music and special education, and I am currently 2 semesters away from graduating with my masters in special education and autism studies. I am disabled due to severe mental illness (bipolar disorder, depression, anxiety, and OCD). I play the trombone and piano, although it's been a few years since I seriously touched a piano. I have 5 tattoos and another one planned, I just don't have the money right now. Derek Jeter, former Yankee's shortstop, is my husband.
This entry was posted in transgender and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

